Dream. Explore. Discover.

List of total India States and Capitals & Union Territories

India States and Capitals


India has 28 states and 9 union territories. The head of the state is the chief minister and the head of the Union Territory is called Deputy Governor or Administrator. In this post for General Knowledge, the names India states and capitals will be given. Hope this information on Indian states and their capitals will be very important and good for you.

India is a country exhibiting unity in diversity. Here in each state has different languages, living and speaking and culture also appear different every 40-50 kilometers.

The India States and Capitals


The India States and Capitals:

The Constitution disseminates administrative powers between the Center and the State. The Parliament is bicameral – the lower house is known as the Lok Sabha (House of the People) and the upper house is known as the Rajya Sabha (Council of States). At the state level, a few councils are bicameral and are kept running along the lines of the two places of the national Parliament.

A land favored in all terms, be it geography, regular excellence, populace, religion, culture or language, India is home to twenty-eight States and nine Union Territories. One of a kind in their own specific manners, having an uncommon history and culture, the states and association domains in India never neglect to hypnotize guests with their unfurling puzzles and charm.

Everybody is aware that there are 28 states and 9 union territories in India. But not everyone is aware of all the states and their capitals of India. Looking at this, we have brought some interesting information to you today. Where you can learn about all the states of India and their capitals at a glance: India states and capitals

The India States and Capitals

Sl. No.StatesCapitalsEstablished On

Official Website

1.Andhra PradeshAmaravati1953 Oct 1https://www.aponline.gov.in/apportal/index.asp
2.Arunachal PradeshItanagar1987 Feb 20http://www.arunachalpradesh.gov.in/
3.AssamDispur1912 Apr 1https://assam.gov.in/
4.BiharPatna1936 Apr 1http://gov.bih.nic.in/
5.ChhattisgarhRaipur2000 Nov 1https://www.cgstate.gov.in/
6.GoaPanaji1987 May 30https://www.goa.gov.in/
7.GujaratGandhinagar1960 May 1https://gujaratindia.gov.in/
8.HaryanaChandigarh1966 November 1http://haryana.gov.in/index.html
9.Himachal PradeshShimla1971 Jan 25https://himachaltourism.gov.in/
10.JharkhandRanchi2000 Nov 15https://www.jharkhand.gov.in/
11.KarnatakaBangalore1956 Nov 1http://www.karnatakatourism.org/
12.KeralaThiruvananthapuram1956 Nov 1https://kerala.gov.in/
13.Madhya PradeshBhopal1956 Nov 1http://www.mp.gov.in/en
14.MaharashtraMumbai1960 May 1https://www.maharashtra.gov.in/1125/Home
15.ManipurImphal1972 Jan 21https://manipur.gov.in/
16.MeghalayaShillong1972 Jan 21http://meghalaya.gov.in/megportal/
17.MizoramAizawl1987 Feb 20https://mizoram.gov.in/
18.NagalandKohima1963 Dec 1https://www.nagaland.gov.in/portal
19.OdishaBhubaneswar1936 Apr 1https://www.odisha.gov.in/
20.PunjabChandigarh1947 Aug 15http://punjab.gov.in/
21.RajasthanJaipur1950 Jan 26http://www.tourism.rajasthan.gov.in/
22.SikkimGangtok1975 May 16http://www.sikkimtourism.gov.in/Webforms/General/Default.aspx
23.Tamil NaduChennai1950 Jan 26https://www.tn.gov.in/tamilnadustate
24.TelanganaHyderabad2014 Jun 2https://www.telangana.gov.in/
25.TripuraAgartala1972 Jan 21http://tripuratourism.gov.in/
26.Uttar PradeshLucknow1902 Mar 22http://up.gov.in/
27.UttarakhandDehradun2000 Nov 9https://uk.gov.in/
28.West BengalKolkata1947 Aug 15https://wb.gov.in/


Union Territories of India


Union Territories of India:

There is a total of 9 union territories in India. States and Union Territories are further sub-divided into districts and in small administrative divisions. India, as the popularity based country we know it today, appeared on fifteenth August 1947, after picking up autonomy. It is a Republic, implying that the incomparable power lives in the hands of the kinsmen.

Every one of the choices is made by the delegates chosen by the general population under and inside a lot of keys, composed guidelines called the “Constitution”. The Constitution is the incomparable tradition that must be adhered to. It was received by the Constituent Assembly on 26 November 1949 and came into power on 26 January 1950.

The preface of the Indian Constitution guarantees it to be a Sovereign, Socialist, Secular and Democratic Republic with a parliamentary arrangement of government. Directly, India contains 28 states and 9 Union Territories.

Union Territories of India

Sl. No.Union Territory CapitalsEstablished OnOfficial Website
1.Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair1956 Nov 01https://www.andamantourism.gov.in/
2.ChandigarhChandigarh1966 Nov 01http://chandigarh.gov.in/
3.Dadra and Nagar HaveliSilvassa1961 Aug 11http://dnh.nic.in/
4.Daman and DiuDaman1987 May 30https://daman.nic.in/
5.Delhi NCRNew Delhi1956 (Converted to Union territory)http://ncrpb.nic.in/ncrconstituent.html
6.LakshadweepKavratri1956 Nov 1https://lakshadweep.gov.in/
7.PuducherryPuducherry1963 Jan 7https://www.py.gov.in/
8.Jammu and Kashmir

*Jammu and Kashmir was a state of India until 5th August 2019. But after 5th August 2019, as the Article 370 get removed, Jammu and Kashmir is not anymore a state. Instead, Jammu and Kashmir has now divided into 2 parts and thus added as 2 union territories such as Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh.

More Recommended Articles:-

Leave a Comment!