Dream. Explore. Discover.

Which Are The North States Of India?

north states of india


The area of India is 32,87,520 sq. Km. (12,69,346 square miles) and the population is 1 billion 25 million. That which brings India to second place in terms of population in the world. India’s total area is 2.4% of the world. Whereas in India there are around 16.9% of the world’s population. Such a large country has been divided into different provinces to move smoothly. The peninsula is divided into 29 states and 7 union territories. So, here I am going to tell you about the north states of India. See which are the north states of India.

Himachal Pradesh


Himachal Pradesh:

Himachal is a state located in the north-western part of India. The capital of Himachal Pradesh is Shimla. Himachal Pradesh is also called Dev Bhoomi. Here the influence of the Aryans is quite old even than the Rig Veda. Traveling from an ancient kingdom of Himachal to becoming a kingdom of today is very fascinating. Which we will read in the next post.

Himachal Pradesh is a part of Shivalik category of Himalaya Mountains. The Ghaggar river emerges from the same mountain range. Other major rivers of Himachal include Satluj, Ravi, Beas, and Chenab.




Punjab is a state located in the north-western part of India. Jammu and Kashmir in the north, Himachal in the north-east, Haryana in south and south-east, Chandigarh in the southeast, Rajasthan in south-west and Pakistan country in the west. This is one of the north states of India. The capital of Punjab is Chandigarh, which is also the capital of Haryana. Punjab is the only Sikh-majority state in entire India.

The word Punjab is made up of two words, Panj (five) and Ab (water) of Persian. Which means the area with five rivers. Major rivers of Punjab include Sutlej, Vyas, Ravi, Chenab, and Jhelum.

The most sacred place of Sikhs in Punjab is Amritsar Sahib. The main religious place of Sikhs, Harimandir Sahib, are located in the Amritsar district of Punjab. The main languages ​​here are Punjabi.




Uttarakhand is a state located in northern India. Which was declared as the twenty-seventh state of India. 2006 Uttarakhand’s name was Uttaranchal, later changed to name Uttarakhand in 2007. Uttarakhand’s capital is Dehradun. This is one of the north states of India. Its boundaries are from Tibet in the north and Nepal in the east. Himachal Pradesh on the west and Uttar Pradesh in the south.

The state is very important in terms of the Hindu religion. Because Gangotri (the origin of river Ganges) and Yamunotri (the origin of the river Yamuna) and many prominent places of Vedic culture settled on their shores are here.

State tourism is very important. Here rivers, snow peaks, glaciers, lakes, and passes are quite famous and millions of people from abroad come to tourism here every year.

More Recommended Articles :-

Uttar Pradesh


Uttar Pradesh:

Uttar Pradesh state is situated in the north of India. Its borders range from Nepal and Uttarakhand in the north, Madhya Pradesh to the south, Haryana, Rajasthan and Delhi in the west, Bihar to the east and Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh in the south-east. Lucknow is the capital of Uttar Pradesh.

History was considered, then the Aryans kept their first steps and Vedic civilization was born. Politically, this state is the most important state of India. Gorakhpur, India’s largest railway junction, is also located in Uttar Pradesh.




Haryana is a state of northern India. Whose capital is Chandigarh, which is also the capital of Punjab. Mahabharata, the most important battle of the Vedic civilization, was also fought in Kurukshetra of Haryana.

The word Haryana has originated from Hari (a name of Lord Vishnu) and Ayen (residence). Which literally means “House of God” | But according to some scholars, the word originated from Hari (green, green) and forest (forest). Because according to the Vedas, there was a forest here first.




Rajasthan is India’s largest state in the north-west of India. Whose capital is Jaipur. Punjab in the north, Punjab in the north, Uttar Pradesh and Haryana in the north-east, Gujarat in the south-west, Madhya Pradesh in the south-east and Pakistan in the north.

One of the world’s oldest mountain ranges, the Aravali mountain range passes through Rajasthan. Where the only hill station of Pher Rajasthan is located.